MLA Full Form : Functions, Powers, Elections and more

MLA Full Form

MLA Full Form

Read all about MLA Full Form!

CategoryMLA Full Form
Polity, GovernanceMember of the Legislative Assembly
PhysicsMagnetic Linear Accelerator
Manufacturing License AgreementLegal, Business
Mater of Landscape ArchitectureAcademic Degree

Intoduction [MLA (Full Form)]

A Member of the Legislative Assembly is a representative elected to the legislative assembly by the voters in a particular constituency. The term is most often used to refer to a subnational assembly, such as one of the country’s states, provinces, or territories. However, it can also refer to a national legislature in some cases.

All 28 states and the eight Union Territories of India have legislative assemblies.

If qualified, a person may be elected an MLA on the basis of universal adult suffrage, which is the vote of an electorate that includes all citizens over the age of 18. The Governor may appoint one representative to minorities in some states. The Anglo-Indian community, if the Governor finds that minority is inadequately represented in the Legislative Assembly. Those elected or appointed to a Vidhan Sabha (Legislative Assembly) are referred to as Members of the Legislative Assembly or MLAs.

Only one MLA is allowed to represent each legislative constituency in a State or UT. The Constitution of India stipulates that a legislature must have no more than 500 members and no less than 60 members. An Act of Parliament allows for a seat limit of 60. This is true in Goa, Sikkim, and Mizoram.

Depending on the population and other factors, each State or UT has varying numbers of MLAs, the highest being in Uttar Pradesh (403) and the least in the UT of Puducherry (30).

Because of the parliamentary democracy, some MLAs could have three responsibilities: 

  1. MLA
  2. chief minister
  3. and/or a cabinet minister of a department

Eligibility to become an MLA:

Legislative (law-making), fiscal (passing bills, grants, and tax proposals), executive control of the ruling government, and electoral (appointing President, Rajya Sabha members, Speaker of Legislative Assembly) power are all available to MLAs. These are the qualifications to become an MLA.

  • The candidate must be an Indian citizen.
  • One must be at least 25 years old.
  • The 1951 Representation of People Act requires that a candidate must be an elector in any constituency within the State he represents.
  • The candidate cannot hold any office of interest in the Government of India.
  • The candidate must have a sound mind.
  • 1951 Representation of People Act states that MLAs convicted and sentenced by a court cannot remain on the post

Election of an MLA (Full Form):

The voters in a constituency elect the MLAs. Here’s how to elect an MLA.

  • Elections take place after the term of the current assembly expires, usually after every five years.
  • Each state is divided according to its population into distinct constituencies or areas.
  • Citizens over 18 years old vote for candidates from these constituencies.
  • As long as all the criteria are okay, any number of candidates may run for election from a constituency.
  • Candidates can be either affiliated with a particular political party or they may run as independent candidates.
  • Candidates must to organize themselves and voice the concerns of their constituents.
  • Direct election of the members is done by an electorate that votes in accordance with universal adult franchise.
  • To ensure anonymity, the secret ballot is used to vote.
  • In the event that the Anglo-Indian community member is not represented in the assembly, the Governor of a state has the power to nominate him.


What is the qualifying age for becoming a MLA?

Twenty Five Years
Article 84 (b) of Constitution of India provides that the minimum age for becoming a candidate for Lok Sabha election shall be 25 years. Similar provision exists for a candidate to the Legislative Assemblies vide Article 173 (b) of the Constitution read with Sec.

Who is the youngest MLA in India?

Arun Verma (born 12 September 1986) is an Indian musical artist, politician and Indian actor also he is the member of the Samajwadi Party. He was previously MLA of Sadar constituency of Sultanpur, Uttar Pradesh. He was India’s second youngest MLA (at the age of 25) after Umed Singh of Rajasthan Legislative Assembly.

Can MLA become CM?

After the elections, the MLAs belonging to the ruling party elect their leader who will become the chief minister. The chief minister then selects other people as ministers.

Related posts